Skip to content

FAQ

Registering/deregistering

How many prepaid trips can I have?

You can have max 120 prepaid trips on each account.

How does the monthly subscription work?

In a monthly subscription, you pay a fixed amount at the beginning of each month, regardless of the number of trips through the tunnel.

Each monthly subscription is for one passenger car. If the car breaks down or is sold, you can change the car in the subscription by sending an e-mail to the customer service center.

The subscription must be canceled before the 1st of each month and the termination will take effect from the beginning of the next month.

An e-mail must be sent to veggjald@veggjald.is to apply for or cancel a monthly subscription.

How do I update my credit card information?

Here are information on how to update your credit card.

Update credit card

First you need to „sign in“ to https://mitt.veggjald.is/login

You need to click on „payment method“ in the list on the right side

 

Then this option comes up.

 

If you have a new card you have to put the old one in the trash bin and confirm with „ok“.

 

Click on „register a credit card“

 

 Enter the information and click „next“

 

If you only need to update card expiration date you click the pen, enter the new date of extiration and „update“

 

Does it cost to register?

No, registering through tunnel.is is free of charge.

How many vehicles can I register?

You can register up to three vehicles under 3.5 tons and an unlimited number of vehicles that weigh 3.5 tons and over.  

Who is responsible for the information registered through tunnel.is

Whoever registers through tunnel.is is responsible for providing accurate information.

Do I have to register before every trip?

It does not matter if you travel often or rarely through the Vaðlaheiði tunnel, for travellers it offers the greatest convenience to register their vehicle and credit card information by setting up an account. A vehicle is only registered once through tunnel.is, after that the toll is charged automatically to the credit card provided, each time you travel through the tunnel. Registering through tunnel.is is free of charge.

 

What happens if a vehicle changes owners?

If the ownership of a vehicle changes and/or other such changes occur, a registered user must deregister that vehicle through his account on tunnel.is. It is very simple to register another vehicle, the only information you have to provide is the licence plate number. These changes won’t affect pre-paid trips, as they are tied to the account of the user and not to individual vehicles.

 

What happend if you drive a vehicle through the tunnel that you do not own yourself?

If a vehicle is registered through tunnel.is the toll will always be charged in accordance with its current registration within the system.  

If a vehicle is not registered through tunnel.is the driver can pay for a single trip within 24 hours of driving through the tunnel. If no payment arrangement has been made within that time, the toll charge will be billed to the registered owner of the vehicle with an added collection fee (400 isk.)

 

Why does the system say my vehicle is already registered?

The vehicle is already registered to a user in the system.

Please contact the tunnel.is with an email to info@tunnel.is 

 

 

If I have a private license plate number should I register my vehicle with that or the original plate number?

Always register the number that appears on your vehicle, be it the original or a private one.

Can’t find what you are looking for?

Contact us

Need more answers?